AAP leader meets ticket aspirants from 32 Lok Sabha seats of UP

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MP Sanjay Singh met ticket aspirants from 32 Lok Sabha segments of Uttar Pradesh, on Monday.

Aspirants from Aligarh, Saharanpur, Pilibhit, Lalganj, Amethi, Sambhal, Bareilly, Bansgaon, Gonda, Rampur, Unnao, Aonla, among others, met Singh in Lucknow and put forward their claims.

“We are in the final stage of coming out with a list. We are meeting people as it is the system of our party,” said Sanjay Singh.

Delhi chief minister and AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal, who had contested against Narendra Modi from Varanasi in 2014 Lok Sabha election, will not be in the fray this time.

AAP leaders had been saying that the party would contest a few seats in the state. The AAP, which is in power in New Delhi, has decided to contest around 100 seats in the general elections, including a few seats in Uttar Pradesh.

The party has been taking on the BJP, on issues of Hindutva, farm distress and unemployment. It also carried out a march from Ayodhya to Varanasi against the alleged demolition of old temples for Kashi Vishvanath Corridor.

Earlier, AAP had been claiming the support of Apna Dal offshoot, Krishna Patel faction, in the state but later joined hands with the Congress. “The party is also in touch with other smaller outfits,” said a local leader.

Related posts